Reviews of Casa Amare

Self catering accommodation in Positano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Douglas V.

Park Orchards

Australia

VERIFIED

Loved it!

April 2022 - We absolutely loved Casa Amare and thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Giusy [the caretaker] was superb! Well done and thank you. Summer in Italy were excellent in all aspects of our booking, our holiday and in following up any issue.

Metron G.

Los Angeles, CA

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

May 2019 - We loved every minute there.

It was great... No problems with Summer In Italy and I would definitely use again.

Travel tips

  • Be aware of number of steps to get to the house... It is a climb.
  • The owner has the wine/grocery shop in town by church and they deliver!

Judy T.

Middletown, MD

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

October 2018 - Perfection! The landlady is a gem.

Very positive about Summer In Italy for your trip suggestions and follow-up. Excellent response both in content and timing to questions.

Travel tips

  • Vini E Panini a must for everyday needs and some gifts.
  • Restaurant Mediterraneo for great fun and fixing the fish we caught while fishing with Alberto and Luigi at Positano Fishing Tours - a must if you like to fish.
  • Restaurant Da Vincenzo and Restaurant Saraceno D'Oro for the best Italian food.
  • Day trip to Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius.
  • Day trip to Capri with Blue Star Positano Boat Tours and Rentals.
  • Do get out on the water for an entirely different view and to learn lots of info about the area.
  • We took the ferry rather than the bus to Amalfi for a trip to the Gardens of Villa Cimbrone, right on! Catching the bus to Ravello is easy from the mail square.
  • Shops galore but ones we liked were Blue Positano and one down by the beach for T-shirt and caps, Fel├╣ Jewelry, Anna Passerotti Boutique for hand-painted women's and children's clothing, Ceramica Assunta for ceramics - all nearby and most in the central square.

Greg K.

East Hanover, NJ

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent apartment in a superb location

September 2018 - Excellent place. Superb location. Wonderful owner. Beautiful town.

Now, the details, from the moment we've arrived, we received a very warm welcome from Daniela [the owner] and a detailed tour of a villa. Yes, 150 steps up... but how worth it when you get out on a terrace and see the view!!! Sunrises only for you!!!

Kitchen had everything that was needed, although we only had breakfasts there. To welcome us there was a bottle of champagne, water, and few other things.

Bedrooms are big enough, but no windows. A/C was working just fine. Bathrooms had enough towels, soap, toilet paper (yes, we heard that's a bonus too).

EVERYTHING was very clean.

Thank you Summer In Italy for putting up with us with a million questions we called you before the trip. Very prompt responses, very professional and pleasant people. Bravo!!!

Travel tips

  • Definitely use the porter service - 10 euros per piece of luggage.
  • Our favorite restaurant was Restaurant Mediterraneo - food, service, music and reasonable price.
  • We rented a boat for a day with "Valentine boat" company - it was a highlight of our visit. It did cost us 700 euros for 8 hours for 4 adults.
  • Took a day trip to Sorrento - 30 min by boat and a day trip to Amalfi (25 min by boat) and from there bus to Ravello - loved all of it.

Louise C.

Sydney

Australia

VERIFIED

A fabulous house in a great position

May 2018 - Casa Amare was a fabulous house in a great position with wonderful views of beach, dome and Amalfi Coast line from the large terrace. About 130 stairs to beach which was great! 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, lovely kitchen, sitting area. Decor was lovely with a blue and white color scheme. Awesome!

Daniela, the owner and our contact in Positano, was very helpful.

Summer In Italy were very informative.

Travel tips

  • Organize porters to deliver your bags to and from Casa Amare, as the house is in a pedestrian precinct and a 10 minute walk up and down stairs to the closest car park/pick up.
  • Hire a private boat to Capri.
  • Catch the ferry to Amalfi then visit Ravello, it is a lovely town with spectacular views.
  • Book dinner at Restaurant Da Vincenzo, food and service is great!
  • Have breakfast or lunch at Casa Bottega.

Paula B.

Pawleys Island, SC

United States

VERIFIED

Absolutely wonderful

April 2018 - Amazing!!! Casa Amare was absolutely wonderful! The views were so amazing! We loved everything about Casa Amare and the location was fantastic!

The Villa was so comfortable with gorgeous views form the living. Dining and kitchen and the terrace was the best. The owner of Casa Amare was so wonderful and helpful!

I always use Summer In Italy when booking my trips to Positano. They are amazing to work with. So friendly, so quick to respond to my emails and offer so much helpful information. They are always there for you and everything goes so smoothly. They also have the best and are the most descriptive, about the Villas that are offered in each region! This was my 3rd trip to Positano, 3rd time using Summer In Italy and my first time renting Casa Amare.

I find that this location, overlooking the beach and in the pedestrian zone to be the best. I will definitely rent this Villa again on my next trip back to Positano.

There are many great restaurants lining the beach. The food was wonderful. There is a little grocery store on the beach where we got our groceries and wine. They even carried our groceries up for us which was very helpful.

Positano is such an amazing town and absolutely stunning in its beauty! So is the whole Amalfi Coast. Positano is a place I will keep coming back to over the years. Thank you to Summer In Italy and Casa Amare for an amazing vacation!

Craig B.

Westwood, MA

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

April 2018 - Casa Amare was excellent - I have absolutely zero complaints. Clean, bright, and great location (except the stairs :) BUT that's pretty much anywhere in Positano).

Travel tips

  • Great location for day trips to Capri and Amalfi.
  • Loved seeing Daniela [the owner] everyday at her market!

Colin M.

Berwyn, PA

United States

VERIFIED

I couldn't be more happy with our decision to stay at Casa Amare

May 2017 - I couldn't be more happy with our decision to stay at Casa Amare. The location was perfect (not too high up in the cliffs - yet not in the hustle and bustle of "town"), the view was crazy, and the amount of indoor/outdoor space was perfect for a family of four.

The best part of the home might be the warm and welcoming owners. Daniela and her family made us feel so welcome and we were buying fresh fruit, meats and cheeses, and wine on a daily basis. Thank you!!! We already miss you all and Italy.

Great to work with Summer In Italy.

Travel tips

  • Just DO IT.

Laura S.

Belleville

Canada

VERIFIED

Casa Amare offered more than we could have anticipated

April 2017 - Casa Amare offered we - four 68 yo women - more than we could have anticipated. The view was breathtaking (especially after climbing the approximately 150 steps -- hire the porters for sure!!!) and we enjoyed sipping wine on the beautiful terrace. We opted to cook in a few nights and found the kitchen well equipped and very functional. The two bathrooms were a plus with 4 women in residence. It was a quiet and peaceful environment, a perfect place for us to rendezvous.

Daniela and Giovanni [the owners] were most accommodating, even delivering baskets of groceries to us, they were so helpful. Daniela did a marvelous job of furnishing Casa Amare, it is all "top drawer," and really lacked nothing.

Summer In Italy were all most helpful in getting back to me when I had questions. I will definitely book Italy through them again. Having travelled in Italy several times, I was so happy to experience the Amalfi Coast and staying at Casa Amare made this experience even more memorable!!

Travel tips

  • Make sure to pack good walking shoes!
  • Shopping in Positano is very good.
  • We realy enjoyed Casa e Bottega for lunch as well as the family restaurant of Da Vincenzo.
  • We highly recommend Positano Limousine Service. These professional drivers are so knowledgeable, courteous and kind, going out of their way to accommodate our needs -- dinner and the opera in Sorrento one evening, day trip to Ravello and Amalfi, day trip to Pompeii and transport to Napoli. Well worth the expense.

Debbie C.

Newtown, PA

United States

VERIFIED

I couldn't have asked for a better accommodation!!

April 2017 - I couldn't have asked for a better accommodation!!

Sarah M.

Raleigh, NC

United States

VERIFIED

Great place to stay

October 2016 - Great place to stay. Convenient to everything. Very clean and spacious. Would definitely stay there again.

Daniela our host was very helpful, informative and welcoming.

Travel tips

  • Luggage transfer can be challenging (steps). Look into luggage courier service.
  • "Sentiero dei Nidi di Corvo" trail was great for a pretty challenging hike. Amazing vistas.
  • All the restaurants were good.

Molly S.

Parker, CO

United States

VERIFIED

Our stay couldn't have been more perfect

October 2016 - Our stay at Casa Amare couldn't have been more perfect. From the staff at Summer In Italy all the way to meeting the owner and her family.

Casa Amare is absolutely beautiful and in immaculate condition. The bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious and comfortable. Kitchen is fully equipped and has everything you need if you plan to cook in. Our favorite part of Casa Amare would have be the patio. When we were "home" we spent most of our time outside on the patio relaxing, watching all of the activity below at the main beach.

Casa Amare is located in the best location in town. In Positano standars it's just steps down to heart of town and the main beach and steps up to the main road with more shops and restaurants.

Darlene R.

Mississauga

Canada

VERIFIED

Would love to return!!!

June 2016 - FABULOUS house and location. The terrace over looks the beach and the views are stunning. Casa Amare is fully renovated with everything you need. Would love to return!!!

Daniela [the owner] is extremely helpful with anything needed. Thank you for a memorable, fabulous vacation. Hope to return. :)

Thanks for all your help and information in booking the house. Very prompt with responses and easy to book. Thanks!!

Travel tips

  • Porter service is a must!! Lots of stairs in Positano and the porters bring your luggage to your door.
  • The owner has a little store with everything you need from wine, groceries to toiletries. One stop shop.
  • All the shops and restaurants are close to the apartment. They are all fabulous. Not a bad meal.
  • Perfect location to everything!!

Michael T.

West Warwick, RI

United States

VERIFIED

Perfect location close to the beach

May 2016 - We couldn't imagine a nicer place to stay in all of Positano. Perfect location - close to restaurants, shops and the beach.

The unit itself is magnificent - recently renovated so it is actually even more beautiful than the pictures online. Very clean and bright.

Undoubtedly the unit's best feature is its view and terrace - the wall facing the coast is huge glass, floor-to-ceiling sliders looking out to an awesome view. We spent the whole day relaxing on the lounge chairs and sipping wine at the dining table, gazing over the town and coast from the expansive outside area (partially covered).

The beds were comfortable and the rain-showers were a great feature in the thoughtfully-renovated bathrooms.

The owner was welcoming and friendly. We really appreciated her hospitality.

Great experience. Stress-free and easy transaction. Hope to use your services again.

Travel tips

  • Expect to climb stairs in Positano. We felt the unit was, however, situated nicely with not too much of a climb to its entrance. This is part of the charm of Positano and the views make it worth it.
  • A small grocery shop is right around the corner - great place to grab supplies and essentials like good wine and snacks.
  • If you have time and don't mind the price, we felt the cooking class at Buca Di Bacco was fun (and delicious).

Phyllis P.

Raleigh

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

October 2015 - My husband and I absolutely enjoyed and loved every minute of staying at Casa Amare.

It is a lovely house with a breathtaking view!!! Spent a lot of our time on the terrace admiring the spectacular view and taking it all in.

No doubt we will be returning in several years and staying at Casa Amare. It was a gem of a villa!! So beautiful, comfortable and accommodating in every way...

We met Daniela, the owner, and her husband. Very very nice people.

My experience with Summer In Italy was superb! I spent a lot of time talking to Melanie. So friendly, courteous and helpful. Lovely personality. We hit it off from the very beginning. I feel like I've known her for years! The other individuals I first communicated with were just as nice. So glad I found you on-line when I searched for villas in Positano. I would highly recommend Summer In Italy to anyone wanting to book a villa vacation. Thank you, thank you for making our trip one to remember!!!

Travel tips

  • I highly recommend going to Restaurant Da Vincenzo for dinner!! This is our first choice. Great food and service.
  • Also go to Restaurant L'Ancora for lunch or dinner. Spectacular and breathtaking view! Wonderful service and food as well.
  • Recommend Restaurant Buca di Bacco down by the water. Delicious lemon risotto.

Kathryn M.

Atlanta, Georgia

United States

VERIFIED

Fantastic

September 2015 - My husband and I loved our stay at Casa Amare! The view is amazing and the location was perfect distance from the beach and the town.

Loved working with Summer In Italy!!

Travel tips

  • Casa Amare is great for families and couples!

Ryan S.

Newton, MA

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

September 2015 - We loved our time at Casa Amare. Everything was great.

The location and view from the terrace is unbeatable for the price.

Daniela [the owner] was great. She and her husband were very accommodating and helpful.

Summer In Italy was great. They were very helpful and thorough.

Travel tips

  • The location is incredible and the terrace with views is worth every penny.
  • Significant amount of stairs to reach Casa Amare. Our advice is to have porters carry your luggage.

David P.

Chicago, IL - Illinois

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

June 2015 - Casa Amare is wonderful!

Daniela and Giovanni [the owners] are just great people. Very helpful and excellent wine suggestions.

Travel tips

  • In my opinion the ferry is a much more pleasant way to travel than the bus.

Christopher M.

Coventry

United Kingdom

VERIFIED

Fantastic

May 2015 - We had a superb stay at Casa Amare, the house is very special.

We loved the property, especially the terrace (perfect sea view) and the vaulted ceilings. There was everything there that we could possibly need.

To cap it all, the owners of the apartment could not have been nicer and more helpful.

Positano is beautiful and we look forward to returning. It was just a lovely, lovely holiday.

We loved all of the news letters and the whole holiday experience went like clockwork. When we return to Italy we shall be with Summer In Italy.

Travel tips

  • Pack as light as you can or use the porter service (not cheap).
  • We found the Fornillo Beach to be nicer and the beach restaurants served delicious lunches there.
  • We booked a private driver - Amalfi Car - from the airport (Summer In Italy sent us an enquiry form) which we felt was excellent value for money.
  • The owners grocery shop has all of the provisions that you could need and is at the foot of the steps.
  • We were expecting the climb when we arrived (lots and lots of steps) so we were OK.

Max B.

Lynnwood, Washington

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

October 2014 - Casa Amare was an excellent place to stay, in what I now believe to be an ideal location in Positano. It is roughly halfway between the beach and the upper vehicular road, which makes for easy access either way. It also provides easy access to the shopping along the main pedestrian alley, as well as easy access to the main beach and the smaller beach.

The house itself has a beautiful terrace overlooking the beach, it is very private and comfortable. Inside the house, the main bedroom provided plenty of space as well as the living room. The kitchen is smaller than state side (we did not use it though, because of all the great food options around town), the bathroom size was fine but the shower was small, a very minor convenience.

All together an excellent place to stay, the owner of the property did a great job introducing us to the area and was available if we needed anything. If we can ever make it back, this is where we will stay.

Katie F.

Sunnyside, New York

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

June 2014 - We loved our stay at Casa Amare!

The apartment is beautiful and very well maintained and the view is just breathtaking. We were prepared for the many steps to and from Casa Amare and did not feel this was a detriment to the vacation at all.

We would also like to add that Daniela [the owner] is an incredible hostess -- she and Giovanni were so helpful to us in retrieving a suitcase that was lost by the airlines (we are forever grateful since every piece of clothing my husband brought was in that baggage).

Thank you Daniela (and Giovanni) for making our stay in Casa Amare so wonderful!!

Travel tips

  • Don't be afraid of all those steps -- you will enjoy the exercise after all of the wonderful seafood and pasta you are about to enjoy!
  • Restaurants: - we took the advice of other posters and enjoyed Restaurant Da Vincenzo very much (make a reservation though). - Restaurant Mediterraneo just up the hill from Restaurant Da Vincenzo is excellent as well (actually the best meal we had in Positano). - La Zagara on Via Dei Mulini (a fairly quick walk up from the beach toward the main street in town) is fantastic for lunch and desserts -- they have the BEST PIZZA in town and you can order it by the slice to go or sit on the large, shady restaurant veranda out back. Their cannoli and pastry were out of this world also.

Lyn H.

Newcastle

Australia

VERIFIED

Excellent

June 2014 - We loved our stay in Casa Amare, it's perfect in every way. Definitely going back there.

Bedrooms are very spacious. Huge terrace with 6 seater table and two sunbeds overlooking the beach. Washing machine and clothesline, such a bonus. We ate often at the apartment terrace even though the food is great downstairs. It has 137 stairs from the small plaza below, but they get shorter each time.

Highly recommend Casa Amare.

Love Italy, love this place.

Travel tips

  • Get the Positano porters to take your bags. It's well worth the cost per piece of luggage.
  • Great grocery shop to get your supplies, they deliver home.

Thomas S.

Hamden, Connecticut

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

May 2014 - Casa Amare was just what we expected based on the pictures. We enjoyed the outdoor terrace and spend most of our time there. Overall, everything was very pleasing.

Keep up the good work.

Travel tips

  • I was debating using the porters to bring the luggage to and from the apartment - glad I decided to use them. We had the apartment owner arrange for the porters.
  • We visited Amalfi by ferry.
  • Favorite restaurants were Lo Guarracino and Il Capitano.

Sheri V.

Pleasant Prairie, WI

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

September 2013 - Casa Amare is a hidden gem! My daughter walked in and tear'ed over the view that greeted us.

The owners of the villa were also very informative and helpful even making dinner reservations for us.

The villa was an amazing clean, wonderful place to stay. I am a frequent 5 star hotel traveler and I felt very comfortable in this villa.

Summer In Italy was a fantastic help to me for my journey. I couldn't have been happier with the location and place you selected for us. We had a great time!

Travel tips

  • Pack lightly as you have to go up 157 stairs to this villa. But you have this challenge with all your travels in Positano, stairs, stairs, stairs. I loved it, it made me feel good about burning all the calories I was consuming during my stay.

Nevash P.

Melbourne

Australia

VERIFIED

Excellent

September 2013 - The place was beautifully located and had a fantastic view and feel. We really enjoyed our time at Casa Amare. The owner was very friendly and helpful, great hosts.

It was a beautiful stay. We had an amazing few days. Thank you.

Travel tips

  • Be prepared to walk up the stairs (especially with luggage and kids).

Wendy L.

Brisbane

Australia

VERIFIED

Excellent

July 2013 - We loved Casa Amare. The view from the balcony was fantastic.

The location was also great, very close to grocery shops as well as plenty of restaurants and shopping.

Katrina S.

Sandringham

Australia

VERIFIED

Fantastic

June 2013 - This was our second visit to Casa Amare and we loved it just as much as the first time... in fact spending two weeks was even better. Feeling sad that we are home as spending more time in Positano just made us love it more. It will undoubtedly be a place we return to for a long time in the future.

The location of the villa was ideal and we just loved hanging out on the balcony (that's when we weren't on the beach, eating out or exploring the coast).

Travel tips

  • Porter service, of course!

Chris W.

Marietta, GA

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

May 2013 - Casa Amare is the perfect location and the terrace overlooking to town and beach area is spectacular.

The owner's family (Daniela) is very charming and helpful. They helped us feel very welcome and recommended so great restaurants and things to do.

We only stayed for a week, and wish we could of stayed there longer.

Travel tips

  • Bring a pair of binaculars so you can check out all the activity below.

Sandra B.

Fulshear, Texas

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

September 2012 - We really enjoyed staying at Casa Amare. It was very nice and clean on the inside and decorated very Italian style. The floor tiles were beautiful and the Italian plates and pictures were beautiful.

We greatly enjoyed the patio every morning and evening. In the morning, we watched the people on the beach and on the boats. At night, we were there for the Positano stage that they had set up for the nightly entertainment. Every night it was like a theatre stage with music and dance that was so fantastic. This was the greatest source of entertainment and delight to us.

The apartment was very cute with just the right amount of space for three people. We enjoyed it greatly and would stay there again.

We had very nice visits with Daniela, the owner. She and her husband helped us with advice about bank ATM's, places to visit, transportation as well as having groceries delivered for us up to the apartment. We enjoyed their company and their grocery store employees a lot. They were very helpful to us.

We would definitely go back to Positano and stay at this villa again.

I was happy with the performance of Summer In Italy and would use their services again. I found Summer In Italy on the internet and decided to give it a try. I met a lot of people while I was in Italy who had booked their villa by Summer In Italy and were happy with their services.

Travel tips

  • Just be ready and aware that to walk or get around in Positano there are a lot of steps or the walking incline is very steep. It is greatly advised to get the Positano porters to deliver your luggage and any elderly folks to higher villas with steep inclines or a lot of steps.

Ilia K.

Saint Petersburg

Russia

VERIFIED

Fantastic

July 2012 - We liked Casa Amare, we really enjoyed it :)

Location is absolutely excellent, very close to everywhere.

Everything was great, thank you.

Travel tips

  • It seems reasonable to order porter services when coming or leaving. You may do it with the help of the Casa's owners. The price is rather low - 10 euros only.
  • We liked the restaurant "Valle dei Mulini" very much: tasty and not that expensive.

Ronald J.

Fort Mitchell, Kentucky

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

July 2012 - We enjoyed Casa Amare very much. Great location, just high enough for a great view, but not so high that you were tired from all the steps.

The owners are wonderful and very helpful.

Lyndal T.

Albany Creek

Australia

VERIFIED

Excellent

July 2012 - We had the most wonderful stay at Casa Amare. The views from the balcony were beautiful - we spent most of our days and nights admiring the sights of Positano from this very large balcony.

The owners were extremely helpful. I would highly recommend Casa Amare as it is in the perfect position.

Summer In Italy were a very professional company to deal with and I would not hesitate to use them again.

Travel tips

  • Would recommend that you pay the porters to deliver your luggage to Casa Amare, as there are over 160 steps to get to the villa, and it was worth every cent.

Antonio L.

Santiago

Chile

VERIFIED

Very good

June 2012 - Casa Amare is a nice apartment, but watch out with the stairs, is over 120 steps up from Positano's beach level, even though this is very common in Positano, and worse in many other locations.

The apartment fits four, only inconvenience is to have only one bathroom and one 'blind' bedroom.

Everything worked out fine with Summer in Italy.

Michael D.

Dedham, Massachusetts

United States

VERIFIED

Very good

June 2012 - We enjoyed our stay at Casa Amare immensely, even with the 137 step climb which we quickly got used to. We would recommend to anyone. Only suggestion would be to add a working radio and maybe CNN London for international news in English. Other than that everything else was perfect.

Daniela [the owner] couldn't do enough for us and her shop had all the items we needed for our stay.

Summer in Italy was excellent to deal with and we would and have already recommended you already to associates and friends. Will work with you again in the future.

Travel tips

  • If you have any issues with stairs, be advised there are 137 steps to climb each time you come and go to the villa.
  • Skip da Vincenzo, but make sure to not miss Restaurant Lo Guarrancino located on the walkway to the other beach, best view ever and most delicious meal we had during our stay in Positano.
  • Take ferry to Amalfi then bus to Ravello and have lunch at Villa Maria, best view in the world, along with best food and service ever.

Marc S.

Seattle, WA

United States

VERIFIED

Very good

May 2012 - We enjoyed our stay, and the local caretakers were helpful. We were disappointed to find basics like soap and shampoo were not provided in the rental, but overall we were very happy and had a great time.

Travel tips

  • There are 140 steps up and another 20 down together to the apartment. This can be problematic if you have a lot of luggage [might want to use porters to have your luggage brought up] and don't know how Positano is laid out.

Dena C.

New Haven, CT

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

October 2011 - AMAZING!!! We loved every minute at Casa Amare. It was truly a home away from home. I hope we can get back there soon.

Thank you for talking us through the preparation and making sure that we had groceries etc when we arrived. You truly made this a stress-free experience. I have already recommended you to others. Thank you again.

Travel tips

  • Spend some time on the stair master at the gym before your trip. The stairs are manageable if you are in decent shape and prepared to make several trips up and down a day.
  • Restaurant da Vincenzo was our favorite restaurant but the Wine Bar at the bottom of the stairs was also very good.
  • Vini & Panini had amazing paninis and salad (along with great snacks and wine).

Erien A.

Magnolia, Texas

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

September 2011 - We loved it! Daniela [the owner] was great. She and her family went out of their way to help any way that they could.

Travel tips

  • Wear your tennis shoes and be ready to climb stairs!

Justin M.

Strasbourg

France

VERIFIED

Excellent

September 2011 - We had an absolutely fantastic week at Casa Amare.

It's location is a dream and the owners very hospitable. With their help, we even managed to get my wheel chair bound mother-in-law (after breaking her ankle mid holiday) up 150 steps to the apartment!

Your service is superb and I think you run a very strong operation. Thank you!

Anthony I.

York, Pennsylvania

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

July 2011 - Casa Amare was magnificent in every way. The location was superb, the accommodations were clean and comfortable and the family owning the villa was more than helpful.

Casa Amare has the most beautiful view of Positano. We couldn't be happier and plan to stay at Casa Amare when we definitely return to Positano.

You are by far the very best villa service in Italy. Thank you again.

Michael S.

Boise, ID

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

July 2011 - We loved it! This is the only place we would stay in Positano. Below the area that cars can go to, so very quiet. Close to the beach, but not so close that you hear it. Perfect!

Travel tips

  • Ask Daniela [the owner] about the restaurant on the top of the hill. Best dinner we had. Do it early in the trip... so you can do it twice.

Peter S.

Limhamn

Sweden

VERIFIED

Excellent

June 2011 - Very nice apartement in a very nice place.

Everything worked perfectly well. Prompt responses over mail and phone.

Katrina S.

Sandringham

Australia

VERIFIED

Excellent

June 2011 - We have just returned from a fantastic stay at Casa Amare. We were so excited to open the door to the apartment for the first time and see the magnificent view was even better than that we saw on the internet.

The apartment was perfect for our family. Our children who were 4 and 7 easily handled the steps and enjoyed their down time playing on the large balcony or in their spacious bedroom. The kitchen provided everything we needed and having clothes washing facilities was also useful.

We could have stayed for an extra week and still had more restaurants to try out - even though we planned to eat at home some nights it just didn't happen - too much temptation.

Thank you so much for a brilliant stay - we will definitely be back and will recommend Casa Amare to others interested in visiting beautiful Positano.

Summer In Italy was the best holiday website I have ever used. Well done.

Travel tips

  • Get the porter service - worth every cent!

Jennifer A.

Nanaimo

Canada

VERIFIED

Excellent

May 2011 - A lovely apartment. We enjoyed it very much.

There is no outside window in the 2nd bedroom.... this was not a problem for us but was a surprise. A microwave in the kitchen would have been very helpful.

Overall just simply a terrific week... wonderful owners who delivered most of our food up all those stairs... you could not improve on the location and views over the beach -- very quiet as well.

Thanks for having it on your website.

Travel tips

  • Just enjoy - it is a lovely experience, wonderful butcher shop close to the square... take advantage of the fresh fish directly below you... the swordfish was wonderful.
  • We used Rainbow Car Service for door to door transfer from Sorrento to Positano. We then had the porters take our bags to the unit.
  • We used RCS (a family based company in Sorrento) as well for a day trip to Paestum - took all the stress away and was a lovely, but long day. They delivered us to the train station in Naples for our onward trip back to Rome.
  • Take the ferry to Amalfi, then open tourist bus up to Ravello -- great day!!!

Greg F.

Saskatoon

Canada

VERIFIED

Excellent

May 2011 - Our stay at Casa Amare was wonderful. It was in the perfect location, close to the beach, shops and restaurants. We had a beautiful view of Positano from the large terrace.

The owners were first class. They were so helpful in booking restaurant reservations, or arranging drivers for us. Very nice people!!!

Summer in Italy was really easy to deal with. We didn't have any problems with our stay.

Travel tips

  • I would definitely recommend hiring porters to carry your bags up the stairs. At first it seemed like a lot of money (8 Euros a bag) but when you see how many stairs there are to get to the property from the road, you realize it is worth it.
  • We caught the ferry to Capri down at the beach, and the trip was very nice! Our only regret was not booking a tour guide while in Capri to learn the history etc. We took a taxi up the mountain to Anacapri and the views were breathtaking.

Beth W.

Anchorage, AK

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

October 2010 - The view and surroundings were absolutely breathtaking.

This villa was perfect for those who can handle the steps (just remember the higher you go the better the view). It had everything we needed (fully furnished kitchen, fabulous huge terrace overlooking the big beach, hot water) and was well furnished and safe and secure.

Travel tips

  • We had an ant problem because we left our bread out so I would suggest you put all your food items in the refrigerator.
  • Positano is the most charming and beautiful village because the big tour boats and buses cannot directly access the town so you don't have the massive crowds like in Capri or Amalfi. Explore the town - it's actually much larger than it looks.
  • If you want day trips - take the ferry to Amalfi or Capri for around 6-10 euros per person on the ferry.

Jason H.

Atlanta, GA

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

October 2010 - Casa Amare was the perfect destination for us. It was lovely and felt like our home away from home.

The terrace was our favorite feature, as well as the close proximity to the beach and all activities.

The owner and family were very accommodating to our needs and wonderful people.

We would stay there again and again if our travels allow.

Thank you for your thoroughness, kindness, quick responses and honesty to make our arrangements easy and comfortable. From the very beginning it was a pleasure working with you. We will not hesitate to use you again if our travels allow.

Travel tips

  • Casa Amare is ideally located to all aspects of interest - beach, shopping, dining and tourist activities. Given Positano is built into the cliffs of the Amalfi Coast, location is everything and will determine how many steps you have to climb every time you leave and return.
  • The layout is perfect and spacious with everything you need and nothing you don't.
  • You have to walk a short distance to the nearest bus stop, but given Positano was our destination, we preferred staying close to the amenities of the town such as the beach and dining.
  • Excellent choice for two couples or small family.
  • Owners run a nearby grocery store that carried everything we needed. Very convenient!

Diane K.

South Hero, VT

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

June 2010 - Casa Amare was a wonderful place to stay for the week with my husband and two girls ages 6 and 9.

The steps were manageable (even for the kids - they were actually beating us to the top every day!)

Great views from the balcony, close to everything - stores, restaurants, beach.

Daniela and her Mom were perfect hostesses accommodating in every way.

The apartment has all the proper amenities and is clean and comfortable.

I would highly recommend this and plan on returning soon.

Summer in Italy is an awesome website with efficient and helpful staff - will definitely us their services again. Thanks for all your help - you helped make our vacation so special!

Ciao!

Travel tips

  • Vini e Panini - great store for fresh food!

Colin T.

Perth

Australia

VERIFIED

Excellent

May 2010 - We loved it great views and position.

Owners were very helpful to us.

Highly recommended.

Kathleen C.

Lititz, PA

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

Travel tips

  • Use the porter service to transport your bags.

Kelley H.

Eagle, ID

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

October 2009 - Our group enjoyed Casa Amare very much.

It was a beautiful place with a beautiful view.

We would recommend it to any who plan on visiting.

Adam H.

Mukilteo, Washington

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

August 2009 - We had a great time - the view/location was incredible.

Late nights on the terrace we perfect.

I thought your website was incredibly easy to use, and anytime I had a question it was promptly answered. I will definitely recommend and use Summer in Italy again.

Janette A.

White Rock

Canada

VERIFIED

Excellent

September 2008 - Casa Amare is an excellent place for R&R or to have as a base for day trips on the Amalfi coast.

We loved our spectacular view in spite of the many stone steps up to our apartment. The apartment was clean and equipped with all the necessities.

We also appreciated the congeniality and helpfulness of the proprietors - Daniela and Giovanni. We were very pleased with all their generous help and suggestions. They were great!

Your website was recommended to us by friends. Your communication through emails was great and we would highly recommend your website to others. Thanks!

Travel tips

  • The day trips to Amalfi, Ravello, Isle of Capri and Pompeii were great!
  • We drove everywhere with our GPS ("tom-tom"). The roads were quite manageable - we expected the worst! I wouldn't advise driving the roads at night though - take a bus or a taxi.
  • Our favorite restaurant experience was at a family-run restaurant called La Tagliata up in the hills above Positano halfway between Montepertuso and Nocelle. Fabulous food and family entertainment - everyone ended up clapping, dancing and singing to the music. Great Italian family feel!!

Gail C.

Terrigal

Australia

VERIFIED

Excellent

September 2008 - Had a wonderful time. Casa Amare was exactly as it was portrayed on the web site.

The location was fabulous and quite private and the view was outstanding.

Summer In Italy was very easy to deal with and provided great information.

Jan U.

Stockholm

Sweden

VERIFIED

Excellent

July 2008 - It is a great place and this was the second time we were there.

 

 

Travel tips

  • Enjoy and relax.

Cynthia B.

Marietta

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

June 2008 - Casa Amare was a lovely apartment with a beautiful view.

Summer in Italy is a wonderful place to rent places in Italy. We would not hesitate using you again!

Travel tips

  • There are about 135 stairs that you must climb to reach Casa Amare. We thought it was great exercise but it might be difficult for some people.
  • Make sure you have dinner at La Cambusa! We ate there twice and it was wonderful both times.

Paula O.

Toronto

Canada

VERIFIED

Excellent

June 2008 - We loved the location, the terrace and the kitchen was well equipped.

Daniela and Giovanni and all the family are wonderful people--they made the trip for us!

We loved the proximity to all the shops and restaurants! It was a wonderful experience.

Summer in Italy was absolutely SUPERB--wow, what a fabulous website and incredible service--super efficient and easy to use. I absolutely would use the service again--you should be commended for your fantastic website.

Travel tips

  • Make sure you are aware of the 137 steps you must climb to the apartment--if you are overweight or have a disability, you will seriously have a challenge getting to the apartment.
  • Enjoy the lovely terrace and superb view--it was the MAGIC of Casa Amare!!

Richard G.

Boulder, Colorado

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

June 2008 - Excellent vacation rental.

Great views. Wonderful patio. Close to beach.

Sean H.

Cromer

Australia

VERIFIED

Excellent

May 2008 - Casa Amare is a wonderful place to stay, we enjoyed it very much. The view from the balcony is spectacular, and the location is very convenient for the beach and ferry's to other parts of the Amalfi coast.

Daniela and her husband [the owners] were wonderful.

There are 100 or so steps to Casa Amare but steps are everywhere in Positano. The steps to Casa Amare are not too bad and managed fine even with a 5 and 3 yr old.

Travel tips

  • Lots of good restaurants. Cafe Positano which is a little way up the hill walking distance. The best and cheapest meal by far was La Tagliata but this is a taxi ride to the top of Positano, well worth it.
  • Get the porter service for your bags, unless you are strong and fit. At Eur 6 per bag carry the light ones yourself.

Brian C.

Big Spring, TX

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

May 2008 - We had the greatest time at Casa Amare! I would firmly recommend a stay there.

Positano is a very pretty place and an excellent jump-off point to see other towns along the Amalfi Coast and also Capri.

While this may seem a strange comment considering all the natural beauty that is there to be seen, the stove and oven are a REX and they cook magnificently. Also, Daniela [the owner] and her colleagues are so very, very friendly. They make any questions vanish and a great time will be had. I hope to return next year!

We were very pleased with the professionalism of Summer in Italy. We plan to book another trip with you soon.

Travel tips

  • Take time to visit Ravello as it is a very pretty city with amazing villas and you can also take a topless bus to visit it from the town of Amalfi.
  • I would also recommend taking the speed boat tour of Capri from the dock just below Casa Amare. It was extra beautiful and allowed you to see the Blue Grotto without a wait.
  • One caution: if you love Italian ceramics, be careful not to take a taxi back from Amalfi to Positano or you might find yourself buying a beautiful table and chairs that are hand-painted and made from the lava of Mount Vesuvius (just kidding, I can't wait until they are shipped to us -- the work is exquisite!)

Kylie L.

Adelaide

Australia

VERIFIED

Excellent

April 2008 - Casa Amare is a lovely apartment with a great view of the beach and town.

We had everything we could need to make our stay with our baby relaxing and enjoyable.

Daniela [the owner] and her family are extremely helpful, even tracking down a lost camera on the day of our wedding!

The website is easy to use, replies come promptly and everything was as explained. As someone booking from overseas you could not have made it easier or simpler, so there is nothing to do but keep up the good work!

Travel tips

  • Try La Tagliata restaurant, higher in the mountains above Positano (in Montepertuso I believe). It has a spectacular view and the food is divine.

Alan D.

Buffalo, NY

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

September 2007 - Four of us (two couples) thoroughly enjoyed our week's stay at Casa Amare in mid-September 2007. It was everything that we expected and more!

The location and views are unbelievable! The large (250 sq. ft) outdoor terrace is the main feature of the unit. We dined several evenings on the terrace under a rising full moon shimmering off the Mediterranean.

Daniela and her husband, Giovanni, are readily accessible, and they were attentive and responsive to our needs. Daniela speaks very good English, and her suggestions and advice were most helpful.

The kitchen is compact and very well equipped, and the unit was very clean when we arrived.

You guys did a great job for us! All your information was truthful and accurate. Keep up the good work!

Travel tips

  • Positano serves as an excellent base from which one is able to venture up into the hills and out to the neighboring small towns by bus or boat for picturesque day hikes.
  • Don't rent a car!! The roads are too narrow and winding for most US drivers, and parking is scarce and expensive. Either take a boat or taxi from Naples.
  • The beach is not white sand but rather small black pebbles.
  • The temperature of the water in September was quite tolerable, and the water seemed clear and clean.
  • Bring good walking or hiking shoes. I guess we would have to say don't visit Positano if you don't like stairs!
  • One of the bedrooms has a nice double bed, and the other bedroom has two small twin beds. There also is a pull-out couch in the living room, if one is not comfortable in a small twin bed.
  • Daniela hooked us up with a taxi at a very reasonable cost (nice Mercedes wagon) for our trip back to the Naples Airport at 3:45 AM for our 7:00 AM flight to Rome.

Mark B.

Ellicott City, Maryland

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

September 2007 - Casa Amare is a wonderful beach home in Positano.

The porch is an excellent place to start your day with a home cooked breakfast and Italian coffee and end your evening with a glass of limoncello watching the late diners along the oceanfront and ocean view.

Daniela and Giovanni were incredible hosts, helping us select the best foods and wines for local flavors, and even delivering those heavy loads of bottled water and other staples!

The location could not be better, far enough up to get some exercise and be away from the crowd noises, close enough that the hike was not unpleasant.

We would highly recommend Casa Amare and Summer in Italy.

Travel tips

  • Buy groceries at Vini e Panini -- the local meats and cheeses are incredible and sometimes on vacation you just want to veg.

Caterina M.

Mc

Monaco, Principality of

VERIFIED

Excellent

Travel tips

  • Forget buying supplies to cook at home... simply keep something light for breakfast... then get out and enjoy the many wonderful local restaurants... in particular..."Da Adolfo": peaceful, very casual and relaxing, friendly, and wonderful value seafood meals.

Cindy G.

Dalkey

Ireland

VERIFIED

Excellent

July 2007 - We enjoyed every moment of our stay in Casa Amare. The location was ideal; although hovering right above the beach and a short walk up or down to shops and restaurants, it was very quiet and peaceful, particularly in the evenings after the beach-goers were gone.

The accommodations themselves were very comfortable for our family of four. The second bedroom was much more spacious than in other holiday rentals we have taken.

The outdoor patio, overlooking the beach and sea, was a favorite feature. Every evening we would enjoy a glass of limoncello after dinner and soak in the gorgeous scenery, the lights twinkling on down the coastline.

Enough cannot be said of Daniela, Giovanni, Vittorio, and Rosalia, who own Casa Amare. Not only did they have all our food delivered and stocked into the fridge and kitchen, but Daniela arranged for our laundry to be done and delivered, and she even arranged for a babysitter so my husband and I could go out for a nice dinner in town. They are so warm and gracious, they made staying at Casa Amare and easy pleasure.

I would definitely recommend trying the family's own limoncello -- delicious!

From Positano it was just a short car ride to Ravello and Pompeii, and we took boat trips with Gennaro and Salvatore down the coast and out to Capri. Everyone in town was so kind and welcoming.

Although our next trip to Italy might be further north, we will certainly be back in Positano, and unequivocally back in Casa Amare.

Travel tips

  • Try Cafe Teresa in Amalfi (on the water). A huge multi-course meal -- the best!
  • We rented a car for day trips and parked in Parking Russo for 25 euro a day, in and out service. It turned out to be very convenient.
  • We also enjoyed Le Tre Sorelle (great pizza for the kids during the day) and Caffe Positano (up on the hill), but avoid Buca di Bacco -- had a bad meal there.

Graeme B.

Ma On Shan

Hong Kong S.A.R.

VERIFIED

Excellent

July 2007 - Loved it. The views were spectacular.

It was very clean and had the amenities we needed.

Eating on the spacious balcony was a highlight.

The steps were steep but got us in shape.

Susan S.

Brooklyn, NY

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

Travel tips

  • We met a wonderful hiking guide named Frank. His company is called One if by Land, Two if by Sea.

Muriel W.

Richmond

Canada

VERIFIED

Excellent

June 2007 - We really enjoyed staying at Casa Amare.

The view and terrace was wonderful. The kitchen was well equipped and overall everything was very clean. It was nice to have a washer.

It was a very nice place to sit and relax. We would absolutely return to Casa Amare.

Summer in Italy was excellent. We would definitely use them when we return to Italy.

Travel tips

  • Bruno's restaurant was excellent even though it meant a walk up the hill!

Ilene B.

Baltimore, Maryland

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

June 2007 - Staying at Casa Amare was for us the ideal way to vacation in Positano for the two of us.

Casa Amare is very conveniently located for quick and easy access to the beach and restaurants (without too much of a climb in either direction), yet when we retired back to the cozy walls of the apartment, we felt like we could withdraw and have all the privacy that we could want.

The view from the very large balcony is spectacular, as are the views from the dining room/living area.

The bedrooms are very spacious with plenty of closet space, and the bathroom feels positively luxurious compared to many hotel bathrooms in Europe.

Overall the apartment is very clean, inviting, and feels surprisingly large. I doubt that we could have found a place that would have made us happier.

Overall the experience of renting Casa Amare through Summer in Italy was an enjoyable and stress-free experience.

Travel tips

  • Be sure to patronize the market "Vini e Panini" nearby. The owners are incredibly helpful and what could be better than stocking up for your stay with fresh mozzarella, prosciutto, tomatoes and wine?
  • The restaurant "Cafe Positano", located halfway up the road to the top of town has food worth eating, a great view, and reasonable prices. Check them out.
  • Max's was a bit pricier, but was an excellent experience with a very comprehensive wine list (and a very helpful sommelier, as well).

Rebecca C.

Lalor Park

Australia

VERIFIED

Excellent

May 2007 - I was with my two girlfriends on the holiday of a lifetime and this place is everything and more, that you see on the web site.

Outstanding and highly recommended

We had a fabulous time. The views were fantastic. The position was fantastic. The house had everything you would need while away. The beds were very comfortable.

The owners are lovely and very helpful, as are the locals. When I go back to Positano, I would not stay anywhere else.

The only down fall, and I say this tongue and cheek, is the 138 stairs you have to walk up when going home, however this does help work off all the pasta and pizza.

It's a win-win for everyone. Book away..!!!

Nancy P.

St. Petersburg, Florida

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

April 2007 - We really enjoyed our stay at Casa Amare. We have made some great memories there.

I was glad that other people wrote and advised us to get a porter to take our bags upstairs.

We found the owner's husband, mother, and father to be very helpful. They were a delight.

The refrigerator didn't really get cold enough to suit us to keep our food safe so we didn't really eat too much at home. As far as everything else in Casa Amare, I think that it was well represented and was great.

Thank you for your help. The thing I liked most about Summer In Italy was that you got right back to us immediately with anything we asked. I wouldn't hesitate to refer others to your site.

Thank you for your very kind words! A skilled technician has already taken care of the refrigerator. A word of advice to all of our future guests: do not hesitate and call the owners or us for immediate assistance for anything that might bother you. When you book with us you are provided a local number where our English-speaking staff answers at all times, any day of the week. We are here to help, and that includes letting the owners know that the refrigerator needs servicing :-)

Travel tips

  • Make sure that you get a porter to carry your bags up the stairs.
  • To me, I felt the stairs we worth it for the beautiful view. I can't imagine living there and seeing that view every day!
  • We had a great time visiting all the local restaurants and found the people all to be very friendly.
  • We also found it very easy to take boat rides from the dock right there to Capri, Salerno and Amalfi.

Dianne S.

Pymble

Australia

VERIFIED

Excellent

October 2006 - We really enjoyed our stay at Casa Amare. The property managers were very welcoming and helpful, the location great - only a few minutes walk to the shops and beach and the most amazing views from the balcony.

Whilst the living and dining room were average in size, they were comfortable. We spent most of our time outdoors on the balcony so we didn't notice too much.

Travel tips

  • The hardest part of our stay was finding the light switch for the kitchen - it was on the half wall next too the fridge, not generally visible unless you knew where to look.
  • We would recommend travelling to Amalfi and Sorrento by ferry rather than bus as the buses were really crowded and after waiting half and hour for the bus, we couldn't even get on.

Patricia J.

Pittsburgh, PA

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

October 2006 - We loved Casa Amare and would recommend it to anyone. The location was perfect, with spectacular views of the town and the beach and the sea and handy access to restaurants and transportation Amalfi and Capri.

We particularly loved the large veranda. And, although the living room and kitchen were rather small, the apartment was nicely appointed, very clean and comfortable.

I found Summer in Italy on the internet and liked the organization of the website. Before I booked Casa Amare, I spoke with the staff, who were professional, helpful and friendly. I would book with Summer in Italy again.

Travel tips

  • All of the restaurants that sit near and line the beach were wonderful. We had a good meal every night.
  • We took a boat to Amalfi to see the duomo and then a bus to Ravello. The view from the gardens in Ravello is breathtaking.
  • We also went to Capri -- a slightly longer trip -- but well worth the effort. What a gorgeous island!

Lara V.

London

United Kingdom

VERIFIED

Excellent

September 2006 - We loved it.

Fantastic location. Excellent hosts - couldn't have been a better holiday.

Thanks!!

 

Shari D.

Bedford, New York

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

July 2006 - Casa Amare helped to make our vacation superb. We could not have chosen a more perfect villa to stay in.

The view from the much over-sized terrace was spectacular, it totally made up for the small size of living space. We practically lived out on the terrace.

The owners were also very helpful.

I will highly recommend Summer in Italy to others. You actually had the best choices of villas for our vacation. It couldn't have been better.

Peter B.

Helsinki

Finland

VERIFIED

Excellent

July 2006 - Me and my family have visited Italy (various places in Italy) several times. Casa Amare and Positano was by far the best place we have visited.

We enjoyed Casa Amare a lot and especially the brilliant terrace with the beautiful views.

Adrian P.

Melbourne

Australia

VERIFIED

Excellent

June 2006 - From the moment we stepped into the apartment and looked across the terrace at the beautiful view we knew we would love it.

Seven days later it was hard to leave.

The location of Casa Amare is perfect: right in the centre of town but private and quiet. OK there are 160 stairs to negotiate, but if you're not prepared to climb don't go to Positano.

The apartment was immaculate; spotlessly clean. The bedrooms were spacious and quiet, the beds comfortable, and the rest of the place, although not very large, was perfectly well appointed.

But the terrace... ohhh the terrace... it was so gorgeous that it took us three days before we even felt the need to venture out. I don't remember how many bottles of Limoncello or how much bufallo mozzerella with Parma ham and melon was consumed on this balcony whilst basking in the sun or sitting under the stars embracing the view.

When we did go out the restaurants, shops and ferries were all very close.

We felt special in this place and had a perfect holiday.

We found Summer in Italy while surfing the net looking for accommodation in Positano. They were efficient and most professional to deal with as well as being friendly and personable. I would happily use them again in the future.

Ellen R.

Mt. Sterling, KY

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

June 2006 - I loved the owners who were very accommodating.

The apartment was spotless and had a great location. It is a simple apartment that completely met our needs. We loved sitting on the terrace overlooking the beach.

I would return in a heartbeat and recommend it to anyone.

You did a great job. All my expectations were met

Onur T.

New York, NY

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

June 2006 - We had a lovely stay at Casa Amare and returned back home relaxed and nostalgic for lovely Italy.

Early June is a great time to be there.

SummerinItaly was very professional and helpful. We look forward to a return trip.

Carter S.

London

United Kingdom

VERIFIED

Excellent

May 2006 - The four of us so enjoyed our stay at Casa Amare that we will be returning again next year!

The apartment is situated in a lovely area, and the view is positively unrivaled! We were treated to fabulous evenings of watching the moon rise, dining on our terrace, and picture postcard views of the ocean, beach and the town. During the day, you are also treated to the tolls of the bells from the local church!

The proximity to all the local shoppes and eateries is another huge plus.

Be sure to treat yourself, weather permitting, and leave the terrace doors open while you sleep. There is nothing to lull you to sleep like the sound of the sea kissing the Amalfi coastline.

In addition, the kitchen was well stocked with everything that we needed to create several gracious meals with fantastic local ingredients. The shoppe that Daniela [the owner] owns is well stocked with local produce, meats, fruits, and wines. A local favourite wine seems to be the Lacryma Christi- which we enjoyed a lot.

Sande B.

Surrey

Canada

VERIFIED

Excellent

May 2006 - We really enjoyed our stay at Casa Amare.

It was very clean and the large terrace was outstanding. We spent most of our time outside having our meals and looking at the amazing view.

The bedrooms were spacious and the kitchen was well equipped. We were also excited to have a washing machine.

I found Summer in Italy on the internet and just took my chance. We were so happy with the communication and direction that we received that we would not hesitate to use it again or recommend it to others. Thank you!

Linda A.

Alexandria, Virginia

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

October 2005 - The view was amazing and the location was central and easily accessible if you don't mind walking up a few steps.

The apartment had plenty of room and the kitchen was well stocked.

I would definitely come back to stay at Casa Amare.

Your website is fantastic. The reservation process was very easy and whenever I emailed or called with a question, I received an answer promptly. The email I received shortly before my trip with all of the information about the rental was thorough and very helpful. The service was fantastic and I would have no hesitation to book with Summer in Italy again.

Penny W.

Killara

Australia

VERIFIED

Excellent

July 2005 - Fantastic location and accommodation.

Clean, well equipped with a comfortable feel.

Very friendly hosts - Daniela speaks English very well and the family made us feel very welcome.

Susan O.

Flanders, New Jersey

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

June 2005 - Casa Amare is the most beautiful rental property we have ever been in.

The views are amazing and the owners lovely.

I felt like i was right in the middle of every wonderful event in Positano and still it was private and peaceful.

The time in Positano was what dreams are made of.

Kathy Jo F.

Downers Grove, IL

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

June 2005 - We were absolutely amazed with how beautiful this place was.

We came here on our honeymoon and spent hours on the large viranda. It has the most spectacular view and the owner, Ms. Rosalie and her daughter, Ms. Daniela are so pleasant and helpful.

Casa Amare is a wonderful place to stay!

You guys are the best! Your excellent service and friendliness took all the worries about booking this over the internet away. The staff is so helpful and friendly. Thank you for helping make our honeymoon unbelievably memorable!

Peter H.

Palo Alto, CA

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

May 2005 - We loved our stay at Casa Amare, and Daniela [the owner] and her family went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

We had great weather and will always remember this vacation.

We hope to come back to Casa Amare often!

Rose D.

Long Beach, California

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

October 2004 - Positano was a great place to just relax and enjoy the beach and village, and a great jumping off point for other cities like Amalfi, Ravello and even Capri. Casa Amare was an excellent selection for my husband and myself, the view is fantastic and the location very quiet where you can actually get a good nights sleep.

The accommodations are superb as it is very clean and well kept.

It is also very well situated in the village - great beach and village view, and only a short walk to the beach.

Robert Scott R.

Emeryville, CA

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

October 2004 - Casa Amare was a very good place to stay... I worry about people who may have walking problems, so many stairs, but for us it was great. I love how it's on the edge of tourist and non tourist area. We just hung mostly on the other side. The beach there was great.

The family who owns it is the best, and we became friends. Thanks so much for such an excellent place.

Keep up the high standards. I will use you again!

Frannie R.

Tamworth, NH

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

October 2004 - We loved our time in Casa Amare. Due to the location and the terrace it turned an average rental into an extraordinary one. We basically lived on the terrace.

The additional exceptional thing about Casa Amare is the family who owns it. They are warm, welcoming, and helpful beyond our imagining. Daniela even loaned me her coffee frother for cappuccino. When the shower drain was sluggish, Giovanni immediately went up and fixed it.

The place was immaculate.

DO use the "Positano Porters." These men will carry heavy luggage for you up and down the stairs and are some of the best euros we spent.

We can't wait to go back!

Summer In Italy made me feel comfortable initially through our email exchanges and I was glad that you were available while we were there had the need arisen.

We will return as soon as we can. Great job you are doing.

Denise D.

New York, New York

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

July 2004 - Myself and my fiance had an amazing holiday. I have travelled the coast before and so we decided to stay put in Positano for the three weeks.

The apartment couldn't have been more perfect in terms of combining the beautiful traditional architecture with modern conveniences.

The view from the balcony was exquisite and the owner was very helpful and informative. The people of Postiano have to be some of the most friendly and accommodating in the world. A very enviable way of life!

We found Summer in Italy to be extremely professional and very straight forward to deal with, and we would not hesitate to recommend their services to anyone.

Stuart K.

Parkland, FL

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

July 2004 - Casa Amare was wonderful!

We had visited Positano several times over the years for a day as part of a cruise and fell in love with the town, but never stayed longer. We definitely wanted to. We never rented a villa over the internet before and this was our first experience working with the Summer in Italy company, so we were a bit nervous. We were absolutely thrilled with the fact that everything that was shown to us on Summer in Italy's website describing Casa Amare was exactly as we found it to be.

In addition, the owners of the villa supported us and befriended us and made our trip an unforgettable experience.

The staff at Summer in Italy supported us with everything we needed, and more, to make this unique, month long experience, a joy. They were great. We definitely would use them again next time.

Sile M.

Stamford, Connecticut

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

June 2004 - Casa Amare is a beautiful, well-equipped apartment with fabulous views - you can watch all the comings and goings of the town and sea from the terrace - glass of wine in hand!

The landlady was more than accommodating and friendly. Don't miss out on the fresh mozzerella, tomato and basil rolls for lunch each day from her shop and delicatessen down the steps!

Laura F.

Spring Lake, New Jersey

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

April 2004 - We are back in America for 2 weeks now and all we keep saysing is "I wish I was in Positano".

The apartment was larger than we expected. The view was magnificent and the owner, Daniela is a friend to cherish. She was our personal travel agent. It gave us great comfort to have her around to anwser all of our questions. Her apartment was clean and the modern, new decor made it feel like home. We are hooked on SummerInItaly.com. We've already given your address to three families. Thank you for all of your help prior to our trip.

You did a very professional job. I loved the letter you sent with my voucher. It answered most of my questions. The directions were very helpful.

Deborah S.

West Des Moines, IA

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

March 2004 - Casa Amare was a beautiful setting with a great terrace.

Even all the steps were worth it because of the great location. We loved being close to the beach, shops and restaurants. The apartment itself was very cute and well appointed. I would rent it again it was so nice.

Thanks for a great stay.

Brian M.

Glen Iris

Australia

VERIFIED

Excellent

October 2003 - It all went very well and we had a marvelous time. Thank you for helping with the Casa Amare booking.

Positano is a beautiful town full of charm and interest, and about a million steps! Interesting cobbled streets wind round the hillsides. Lots of restaurants - great food at all of them, and you can eat at a range of places ranging from little trattorias serving simple pastas and pizzas to fine dining restaurants which would equal those in big cities.

Casa Amare is lovely - spacious, spotless, very well-appointed and with a stunning view over the town and the sea. The large balcony is ideal for sitting and relaxing and for dining with family and friends. We look forward to returning and staying again.

A tip - the Positano Porters are essential (not optional!)

Thank you again for your help - we had a truly wonderful time.

Allison R.

New York, NY

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

September 2003 - Everything was absolutely wonderful at Casa Amare and in Positano. We couldn't have been happier.

I still miss it every day and long to return as soon as possible. Thank you for your hospitality.

 

 

Martin H.

Mount Vernon, IA

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

May 2003 - During our month-long trip to Italy, we stayed at Casa Amare in Positano May 24-31, 2003, and it was surely the most wonderful, relaxing week of our lives!

There could have been no accommodation more perfectly suited to our taste and style. The apartment was perfectly located, beautiful and simple in its furnishings and decor, immaculately clean, with extremely well-equipped facilities such as the kitchen, terrace, and bath.

The setting overlooking the sea was heavenly; the views were endlessly breathtaking. We enjoyed the convenience of being near the beach, shopping, fresh food markets, and restaurants. Despite the central location, the apartment was totally private and quiet.

Most certainly, the absolutely the best part of the week was the warm hospitality of our hosts, the owners of the apartment. We were warmly greeted upon our arrival, and they were available and helpful throughout the week. We feel as though they will be lifelong friends, and we are determined to return to Positano to see them again.

This review may seem too-good-to-be-true, but there are not enough superlatives to describe our perfect week in this beautiful place. If we could stay forever at Casa Amare, we would!

Thank you for your service - you made everything very easy and everything went very smoothly. Again - we could not have asked for more!

Marie-Claude L.

Williamsville, New York

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

May 2003 - We loved our stay at Casa Amare! We found the villa to be in perfect condition, well-furnished and in the most scenic decor. Our host were friendly and reliable, which contributed in making the experience a truly unforgettable one. I recommend it without hesitation.

We were also very pleased with the services of Summer In Italy. Everything from the confirmation of reservation and payment, to the useful information and directions sent to us prior to our departure, went without any problem. I would not hesitate to use their service again!

 

Kara M.

Marietta, GA

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

April 2003 - Casa Amare and Positano were wonderful. The home seemed bigger to me in person than it did on the website. It was very well decorated, and crystal clean, and the kitchen was well stocked with new pots and pans and good, sharp knives.

The deck was fabulous, with an amazing view of the town, the water and the next town. Spent a lot of time out there on the great deck chairs. The bed was very comfortable (didn't use the spare room beds as there were only 2 of us). The bathroom was very nice too, but yes the water pressure isn't great but that wasn't a problem. While the towels were very pretty, they did not have great drying capabilities (maybe they were brand new) but again not a big deal.

The living room (the 2nd bedroom) was very comfortable and it had a big TV which we did use to keep up with coverage of the war, and we even found some English channels. My only suggestion would be for a small vacuum cleaner because we had a very windy night which left a lot of dust.

I liked the fact that the home is so central to everything. And we really felt like we lived there (albeit for only a week). We loved the restaurants (especially La Cambusa, da Bruno, O' Capurale).

The owners couldn't have been any nicer. They were very helpful with advice about restaurants, things to do, and they helped us with our limited Italian (very patient with us). We loved the fact that their store was right down the stairs and every day we stocked up on fresh buffalo mozzarella, tomatoes, wine, etc. We really enjoyed Daniela and Giovanni and her father. They are such nice people.

It was one of our best (if not the best) vacations we've ever taken and we definitely will be back. Next year we would like to see some of the Giro d' Italia (we're big cycling fans) so we would definitely stay at Casa Amare again.

Overall, I give the home and the entire trip an A+.

Your service was exceptional too. You made it so easy for us. Thank you so much.

From
US$ 1,718
EUR 1,600

Enter dates to see price:

  • SAFE ONLINE BOOKING
  • Best price guarantee
  • Payment protection
  • Inspected property
  • Verified owner