Rocca Aldobrandesca of Suvereto
The remains of the castle at the top of Suvereto offers not only a glimpse into the past, but a splendid panorama, as well. The Rocca Aldobrandesca is named for the ruling family who controlled a vast territory and who built the fortification, the Aldobrandeschi. The first mention of Suvereto was in 973; the first part of the castle was built in the 11th century. The tall square tower on the hill was constructed as a defensive structure and a small hamlet grew up below it. In the 12th century the town started to grow slowly, building in concentric circles down the hill. In 1308 the castle was expanded. The large trapezoid-shaped building was built at the north side of tower, along with a monumental gate. The expansion wasn't a coincidence; it happened as Pisa expanded their power and pushed into the territory. In fact, it became eventually a Pisan garrison. It was abandoned in the 17th century. While in partial ruins, it was stabilized and restored to be made into a museum.
It is worth a visit just for the commanding views. If the museum is open, all the better, for a glimpse of a medieval fortification.
The Rocca is open on Sundays from 2:00 PM til 6:00 PM. Other times can be requested by reservation.
Address in Suvereto:
Via della Rocca.
Ph. (+39) 056 852 9923.
Been there? Done that? Share your experience and tips!
Haven't visited yet? Have questions about Rocca Aldobrandesca of Suvereto? Ask them here!