Reviews of Casa Zenia A

Self catering apartment in Positano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Wendy M.

Burnsville, NC

United States

VERIFIED

This was a trip of a lifetime

May 2024 - This was a trip of a lifetime. Ambra and the entire family... You have shown us true hospitality and we cannot thank you enough.

From the moment we stepped onto the terrace, we knew we would have the perfect vacation. And we were right! From the spectacular views, to the full amenities inside the villa, even the daily visits from the local kitties... It was hard for us to say goodbye. If anyone is looking for peace and quiet away from the touristy part of Positano, this is where you want to be. It was only a 10-15 minute walk down to the main street and shops. Thank you again for the best vacation ever!

Everything was perfect thank you

The photos were exact to what we received when we arrived, plus so much more! The photos really interested us in the accommodations but Summer In Italy assisted us in a timely manner, any time we had questions. We greatly appreciated that!

Travel tips

  • Casa Mastro shop in Positano has the most beautiful linen clothes you've ever seen! We walked away with a couple of outfits and we will always remember Positano when we wear them.

Marv V.

Haines City, FL

United States

VERIFIED

Amazing views

November 2023 - Unbelievable vistas in a relaxed and quiet surrounding.

Jennifer K.

Palm Harbor, FL

United States

VERIFIED

Fantastic

May 2023 - We had a wonderful stay!

Ambra [the owner] was so sweet and accommodating. Would love to come back again! :-)

Rebecca H.

Watsonville, CA

United States

VERIFIED

Beautiful authentic Italian home, with all the amenities you need and breathtaking views

May 2022 - This property was a beautiful authentic Italian home with all the amenities you need. The patio and views were breathtaking and so relaxing.

The manager Ambra, and her mother and father, were so helpful and accommodating with several times that we contacted them with questions. They never made you feel like you were bothering them.

We absolutely loved our days at Casa Zenia. The property was perfect and we would definitely stay again if we ever get the opportunity to visit this beautiful country again.

Travel tips

  • Since the house is high up on hill there are steps, but fortunately there is an elevator that takes you up 3/4 of the way with only a few steps left to the house.
  • Be prepared to walk to get around --- going downhill no problem but back up was a little bit of a freak for us.
  • Manager did give us number of private taxi driver that picked us up and took us to restaurant one evening.
  • Recommendations of Restaurant Da Costantino and Restaurant La Tagliata were spot on.

Katherine S.

Huntingtown, MD

United States

VERIFIED

It had everything we needed for an incredible stay

April 2022 - We absolutely enjoyed our time at Casa Zenia A. It had everything we needed for an incredible stay and the terrace and view were spectacular!

So glad I booked with Summer In Italy! Communication was A+ experience -- all was prompt and clear. Super easy.

Amos

Montreal, Canada

VERIFIED

Wonderful stay in Positano

November 2019 - We felt wonderfully welcomed. Magnificent view. Impeccably clean. Responsive and immensely helpful hosts.

Would recommend without hesitation!

Travel tips

  • The hiking trail to Santa Maria del Castello rivals any on the Amalfi coast and starts right by the front door.

Sandy

Helendale, CA, United States

VERIFIED

Better than we imagined

October 2019 - This was such an amazing place and made our experience magical. Positano in itself is such a beautiful place but staying at Casa Zenia A made this better than we imagined.

The location and view were a once in a lifetime experience. The home and terrace are unbelievable. I don’t think pictures can do justice, this place is just perfect. The home had so many personal touches and was spotless!

Ambra, one of the hosts, was gracious, very, very informative in not just recommendations but she also gave us some very useful local tips, such as bus schedules and where to buy bus tickets. Many of the people we met in town asked to take pictures of the bus schedule and didn't know about purchasing tickets.

I can’t wait to return!

Julie P.

Cypress, TX

United States

VERIFIED

Very clean and nice sized bedrooms perfect for two couples!

September 2019 - Beautiful property - very clean and nice sized bedrooms perfect for two couples!

View was absolutely amazing, large terrace which was relaxing and could just stare at the view all day! Be ready to walk lots of steps to get to town, I liked the exercise!

Nice family owners who were helpful whenever we had questions!

Inga M.

Arlington, VA

United States

VERIFIED

I was so sorry to leave! The views were amazing, just like the pictures suggest!

July 2019 - Casa Zenia A was spectacular! I was so sorry to leave! The views were amazing, just like the pictures suggest! The flowers surrounding and the gardens are all so wonderful and obviously taken care of with lots of time and love.

We all enjoyed the terrace, the kitchen, the amenities, and all were comfortable on the beds. All were very content!

We are athletic, so we enjoyed the stairs twice a day, once up and once down. I even ran up the trail further up into the mountain a few more kilometers and got good exercise and more sweeping views and vistas. This house is situated higher on the hill away from town, thus the spectacular views, and quiet, away from the hustle and bustle of the tourists, but also requires walking up many stairs from town and the beach. There are bus options to use, but we preferred to walk the stairs. It is ideal for an active family like ours with 3 energetic boys. For someone it might be easier to use a taxi or bus to the closest street and walk the few stairs to the house.

Would love to return!!!

Everything was wonderful! We enjoyed meeting the entire family... They are very good at working together. They made every effort to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We speak English, Spanish and French, but had no trouble communicating with any of them.

It was perfect! A dream! Thank you!

Travel tips

  • We walked and never took the bus because it always seemed crowded and with the weather being hot, we did not want to be in a crowded bus.
  • We loved all the beaches, though we tried to go to Arienzo Beach but it was closed that day. We spent most of the time at Fornillo Beach, however the kids were afraid to go in the water due to an abundance of jellyfish. I still swam and just stayed clear and aware of the presence of jellyfish. The restaurants were satisfying and delicious. It was nice to have the convenience so close to the water. We rented chairs and spent the days there.
  • We visited the linen shop which the family operates and purchased some linen at discount.
  • While there, Luca gave us good advice and suggestions for restaurants, activities, etc. We rented a motor boat one day and saw the coastline.
  • We bought bread, meat and fresh mozzarella cheese along with milk and a lot of delicious fruit from the market near the bus stop at Via G. Marconi, I think. We ate this for breakfast in the mornings. They provided us with rich coffee grounds, so I made espresso every morning and warmed the milk to make cafe au lait. Sitting and having coffee and breakfast in the mornings on the porch was divine.
  • We went to Restaurant Lo Guarracino in Fornillo, and Restaurant Le Tre Sorelle. Dinner at Rifugio Dei Mele in Nocelle was a highlight of the trip! A must if you come to Positano! Truly unbelievable. We took our Christmas picture there on the patio.

Amy

Detroit, MI, United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

June 2019 - Casa Zenia A has a stunning view of Positano which means it is a lot of steps to the beach. But, for us, it was well worth the exercise to walk to city center or the beach and sometimes take the vertical climb back to the apartment. The local bus transportation worked well for us when we weren’t up for the climb back. Being away from city center was relaxing, nice and quiet.

The apartment was clean and comfortable, air conditioners worked well to cool the place down. Fuses blew a couple of times, but easily reset when we needed to. The patio is wonderful. Very large with lots of seating options to sun or sit in the shade. We highly recommend this place and would certainly stay here again.

Travel tips

  • Washing machine was an added plus. No dryer. Everyone seems to hang their clothes outside. There was a drying rack on the patio which worked out great.

Katy H.

Southlake, TX

United States

VERIFIED

Amazing time

June 2019 - We had an amazing time staying at Casa Zenia! Everything was spotless when we got there. The kitchen was the perfect size and the bedrooms were very comfortable. It was almost like being at home, it was so comfortable.

Summer in Italy is great, provided a lot of information before the trip and we were able to book a couple of excursions, including the Lemon Experience (fantastic!) and a hike with Zia Lucia for my husband on Father's Day, she was AMAZING and the hike was one of the best we've ever done.

Kathleen K.

Oakdale, MN

United States

VERIFIED

Beautiful!

May 2019 - Our stay was wonderful!!! The house was beautiful and the view from the terrace was breathtaking. We would highly recommend this place.

Jennifer

Roswell, GA, United States

VERIFIED

Thanks for a wonderful trip

May 2019 - Outstanding trip. Wonderful hosts. The view and terrace are spectacular.

I was a little worried about being way up in the hill but NO worries. There’s a wonderful grocer just up the street and there is city bus service. But we just walked into town. Very easy to get around Positano. The home has an elevator so it’s not a problem being up so high.

The views are everything you imagine and more!!!! So worth the extra steps. Works off all of the pasta and pizza. Highly recommend would definitely go back to this home. Thanks for a wonderful trip!

Jim G.

Boynton Beach, FL

United States

VERIFIED

We didn't want to leave

May 2019 - What a wonderful apartment. Clean, beautifully furnished and the views... stunning

Ambra and her family [the owners] were so nice and hospitable, we didn't want to leave.

Can't go wrong with Casa Zenia A

Luca and his staff was wonderful. They answered ever question that I had. Will use them again

Travel tips

  • Loved everything about Positano... except the steps 😁

Gabriela

Vienna, Austria

VERIFIED

Perfect place and helpful owners.

April 2019 - Amazing views!!! The owners were very helpful and the place was perfect, would definitely recommend it!

Grazie!!

Geraldine

Toronto, Canada

VERIFIED

A very memorable first trip to Italy

October 2018 - We really can't find any faults with Casa Zenia A. Spectacular views of the mountains and bay. Perfect location - quiet, and away from the busy tourist area, but a 10 minute walk to the nearest shops.

The rooms were all very spacious, comfortably furnished, pantry stocked with the necessities, and very clean. The sun-filled terrace is full of lush plants and flowers and lounge patio furniture.

The beauty of Casa Zenia A exceeded our expectations, and will leave us with memories that will last a lifetime. Grazie mille for making our first trip to Italy a very very special and memorable one!

Travel tips

  • An indoor parking space was available for us for a fee. We used a rental car to visit nearby Amalfi and Pompeii, so the parking spot was useful.

Ken H.

Waterford, MI

United States

VERIFIED

The views from the terrace were to die for

September 2018 - We spent an awesome week at Casa Zenia A with another couple. The views from the terrace were to die for. It was so peaceful to sit on the terrace overlooking Positano.

The layout of the house was perfect for two couples. The kitchen and living room were in the middle with separate bedrooms and bathrooms on either side. Also one of the bathrooms had a washing machine which we put to good use. We appreciated the ability to park our rented car in their underground secure huge parking garage (for a fee) and utilize their elevator to take luggage up to the house.

We all absolutely LOVED Casa Zenia A. It was way up on the hill and so further away from the central business district which we really liked. But it does mean a longer walk (steps) than if you were staying further down the hill. We would definitely go back for a repeat visit.

Ivan [the owner], his sister, mother, brothers, uncles could not have been nicer or more accommodating.

Overall very good experience and we appreciated all the feedback from Summer In Italy leading up to our trip. Thanks!

Travel tips

  • Favorite beach was Fornillo Beach (smaller beach - less crowded). And favorite place to rent chairs and eat on Fornillo was Da Ferdinando. They had very good food at reasonable prices and clean toilets.
  • The washing machine allows you to bring fewer clothes (bring detergent capsules).
  • Bring binoculars so you can view yachts in the harbor and places in Positano. I also wish I would have brought swim goggles as the water is very clear.
  • Favorite restaurant was Restaurant Da Costantino (easy walking distance from the house). We ate there 4 times in 7 days. Awesome views (make reservations in advance for the windows), terrific food and very friendly family owns the restaurant.
  • Bring a flashlight for walking at night.
  • We took a side trip to Capri. Nice boat ride but it was extremely crowded and over rated.
  • Also took a boat trip to the town of Amalfi. The town is much smaller than Positano and there were three cruise ships there at the time so very crowded. We took our swimsuits and rented chairs at the beach and had lunch. Very nice.
  • Bring very good walking shoes as from the house it is about a 20/30-minute walk down to the beach. We figured out you can take the town bus that circles Positano (Interno) for 1.30 euro and we used it frequently to ride back up the hill.
  • Would not recommend planning to drive along the Amalfi Coast. All the horror stories about driving there are true. It was a relief to park the car for the week.

Mishael

South Melbourne, Australia

VERIFIED

The trip of a lifetime

August 2018 - Casa Zenia A is simply amazing. The views are breathtaking, the villa and patio area are generous in size and well furnished. The showers are hot with great pressure and the beds are comfortable.

You will be warmly welcomed by the family and you really must visit their clothing shop in the town centre. You should take very few clothes to Positano as you will want to buy an entirely new wardrobe with all the beautiful linen available.

We highly recommend Casa Zenia A for the trip of a lifetime.

Travel tips

  • There is a delicious deli in the town centre who will deliver your produce right to the door, fresh cheese, meats and wines available.
  • I highly recommend hiring a scooter whilst in Positano as the climb back up the stairs can be challenging.

Sonya S.

Stouffville

Canada

VERIFIED

We adored our stay at Casa Zenia A in Positano!

August 2018 - We adored our stay at Casa Zenia A in Positano! The hosts are lovely and the place was super clean and outfitted with everything we needed for our family of 4, including air conditioning. The highlight for our entire family was the terrace and the stunning view!

The property is near the top of the town and so there are many many stairs to get to the beach and shopping.

Thank you so much - you are great hosts and your place was the highlight of our stay. We can't wait to come back!

Summer in Italy has been just fantastic - we booked a few of our Italian places with you and we can't say enough good about the experience. Thank you!

Travel tips

  • We loved the little grocery store (can't remember the name unfortunately) that was recommended to us. We bought the burrata wrapped in parchment and it was by far the best we've EVER had - so fresh! Highly recommended.
  • The best restaurant with the most welcoming family vibe was Luigi's Restaurant Da Costantino. It might look a bit plain but don't be fooled - great service and delicious food! We just wanted to eat there every night.

Christopher S.

Särö

Sweden

VERIFIED

Stunning terrace and view

July 2018 - An absolutely marvelous flat with a stunning terrace and view.

The host where very friendly and helpful in every way.

Response and feedback was absolutely excellent and we will definitely book with Summer In Italy again next time we visit Italy.

Travel tips

  • There is a very nice restaurant close by, Ristorante da Costantino, with great homemade honest Italian food.
  • The stairs to the beach definately helps keeping you fit but if you prefer the local bus avoid the most busy part of the day. We enjoyed the Fornillo beach very much.

Bernice F.

Hialeah, FL

United States

VERIFIED

What a beautiful house in a beautiful place!!!

June 2018 - Highly recommended. What a beautiful house in a beautiful place!!! The terrace is breathtaking with spectacular views of Positano and the Mediterranean sea. Hope to go back really soon!!!

Don't change anything!

The communication is excellent, emails returned immediately. Great customer service!!!

Travel tips

  • You have to be in very good physical health for all the walking but if not just take a taxi. Either way you enjoy the views.
  • Love shopping there, lots of unique stores that you don't find in the States.

Jennifer

Glen Burnie, MD, United States

VERIFIED

Recommended 100%

April 2018 - The pictures are true! Casa Zenia A is beautiful inside and out. The views you take in from the terrace are unreal. Yes of course there are quite a few steps to get downtown, but where in Positano doesn’t have steps? All is worth it!

My husband and I stayed here with my parents, the setup of the Villa was perfect. We had our own space and bathrooms but the wonderful common/family areas of the living space.

We recommend Casa Zenia A 100% !!

James H.

Ponte Vedra Beach, FL

United States

VERIFIED

What a wonderful location for Positano

September 2017 - What a wonderful location for Positano. A spectacular view from the spacious terrace. We really liked being above the crowds.

Carla and Ambra [the caretakers] were great hosts and very helpful with tips about the area.

Summer In Italy was wonderful to work with and provided key resources by phone or on their web site (like which cars with driver were best to hire for tours and/or pick up at the Naples train station, in our case).

Travel tips

  • Restaurant Da Costantino was a fantastic restaurant just a short walk up the road.
  • You can take the steps up and down the town but to really take it all in follow the road down on at least your first trip to the beach to get a great feel for the town and what it presents.
  • The bus stops near the house or near the grocery store and provide an exciting, easy way to get around the town.
  • Take the small boat from the ferry landing to Restaurant Da Adolfo for an interesting afternoon and unusual and tasty lunch.

Cristina B.

Santa Monica, CA

United States

VERIFIED

Amazing house with breathtaking views

July 2017 - Amazing house with breathtaking views. The terrace makes the house and was everything we hoped for and more. Would rent again and again!

The owners were so helpful and on top of anything we needed.

Outstanding. Perfect. Customer service was unbelievable.

Travel tips

  • I actually loved the location of the house because it was quite and outside of town.
  • The house requires many stairs down to the town and beach, so learn the buses to save your legs. Once we learned where the bus stops were, everything was great.
  • Definitely not a place to visit if going up and down stairs is a problem.

Noelle R.

Farmington, MN

United States

VERIFIED

The view was one of the most amazing we've seen

June 2017 - We loved Casa Zenia A! The home was a beautiful oasis from the travels of the day! One minor challenge with this property is the location, which is away from the beaches and shopping areas of Positano so getting back to the property involves lots of stairs, taking the bus or a taxi (easiest but €25 from pretty much anywhere in town). But this was easily offset by the most remarkable part of this home which was the beautiful terrace. There was a beautiful canopy of bougainvillea, other flowers and plants, a small koi pond and even wood fired pizza oven on the terrace and the view was one of the most amazing we've seen - quite serene and absolutely stunning!

The owner family is very friendly, helpful and generous, including their pets who made the occasional visit to see who the new inhabitants were.

Great to work with Summer In Italy! Loved getting updates on our upcoming trip and the newsletter with information about Italy. Thanks!

Travel tips

  • Restaurant Da Costantino was recommended and definitely delivered but call ahead for a reservation so you can get a table by the window for the view!
  • We found trying to catch a bus or a taxi a bit challenging in town. Next time we would probably call ahead for a taxi to get back to the property from the beach or in town.

William C.

Erie, PA

United States

VERIFIED

There are no words to describe the beauty!

June 2017 - We (two couples) LOVED Casa Zenia A. I wish we could give the view from the terrace a rating even higher than excellent! There are no words to describe the beauty! The bedrooms (each with their own full bathroom) were well appointed and the beds are very comfortable. The kitchen is complete with modern amenities. The living room is on the small side, but we never sat in the living room - much preferring the breath-taking views from the terrace.

The location is a bit away from the center of town but the tranquility of this area is worth the extra steps. The stairs to the center of town are located just across the street from Casa Zenia A so there is easy access to shops and restaurants. The location is also convenient to the SITA bus stop.

Our hosts were gracious and helpful with directions and suggestions.

Summer In Italy was fantastic! They answered our emailed questions very promptly and provided great recommendations. We looked forward to their emailed newsletters and learned so much from them before we even arrived in Italy!

Travel tips

  • We used Giardano Car Service for transportation to/from the Naples airport to Casa Zenia. Mena was very helpful with these arrangements and always answered our questions promptly. Their service was excellent.
  • We enjoyed delicious meals at Restaurant Da Costantino on two separate occasions. This restaurant is about a 5 minute walk from Casa Zenia. We also ordered wood-fired pizza and calzone from this restaurant for take away and enjoyed them on our terrace.

Shannon M.

Goshen, Kentucky

United States

VERIFIED

Magnifico...!!

June 2017 - Magnifico...!!! Fantastic terrace and views... Had to stay there.

Travel tips

  • Jet boat to Amalfi was easy and short ride with great views.
  • Enjoyed Ravello with its villas and fantastic views of the coast below.

Susan E.

Manalapan, NJ

United States

VERIFIED

It is breathtaking to sit on the magnificent terrace and enjoy the view!

May 2017 - Casa Zenia A is immaculate and tasteful. It is breathtaking to sit on the magnificent terrace and enjoy the view!

The owners are lovely, helpful people.

Summer In Italy was fantastic! So easy to deal with and always friendly and helpful! I have already recommended you to my friends!

Travel tips

  • Be prepared for a lot of steps.

John M.

Preston

United Kingdom

VERIFIED

The view was spectacular and the terrace was amazing

May 2017 - We loved our stay in Casa Zenia A. The view was spectacular and the terrace was amazing. We wish we could have enjoyed more time on the wonderful terrace but we were very busy enjoying the Amalfi Coast and the wonderful sights, perhaps next time we will book a longer stay! We would definitely recommend a stay here.

The owners were very helpful and friendly and gave us good tips for restaurants, nothing was too much trouble.

Summer In Italy were extremely helpful and answered all of our emails promptly and efficiently. We decided to book with them because they had good reviews and answered our initial questions promptly and were very friendly. All of our requests were dealt with straight away and nothing was too much trouble. We would book through them again and can't really suggest any improvements.

Travel tips

  • There are many steps in Positano but the compensation is the wonderful view.
  • We had some shopping delivered on the first day (which the owners organised for us) of heavy items like water, milk etc. After that we bought fresh fruit and daily supplies from the supermarket at Bar Internazionale which is only a 5/10 minute walk away.
  • The internal bus is very regular which picks up and drops off at Bar Internazionale. There is an hourly bus service which goes from the centre of Positano to Montepertuso/Nocelle which takes you past the apartment and stops 5 minutes up the road.
  • Quite often we walked on the road because it's a more gentle climb than the steps.
  • We had some lovely meals at Restaurant Costantino (10 minutes up the road from the apartment). The staff were very friendly and made good recommendations.
  • We had an amazing meal at Restaurant La Tagliata in Montepertuso, the food was wonderful and the staff were very friendly. They took the time to show us round their farm which supplies the food for the restaurant. Everything is home grown and cooked freshly.
  • We visited Amalfi, Ravello, Montepertuso, Nocelle, Capri and Sorrento. Our favourite places were Capri and Ravello.
  • The gardens at Villa Rufolo in Ravello are stunning and well worth a visit.

Jobie S.

New York, NY

United States

VERIFIED

Amazing terrace and forever views

October 2016 - Casa Zenia A is a lovely apartment with an amazing terrace and forever views. If you're looking for an Amalfi Coast vacation away from the tourists and crowds, Casa Zenia A is for you. Set way above the town center of Positano, it is quiet and private. You really feel part of the neighborhood. Yet, getting into the town center is easy-peasy. An exhilarating walk down old stairways, or an easy bus ride from a close-by bus stop.

The host family lives right next door and they were very helpful and responsive.

Travel tips

  • Touring the rest of the Amalfi Coast is easy from this location.
  • Ferries to Amalfi and Capri make for easy day trips.

Geoff G.

Dudley

United Kingdom

VERIFIED

Greatly enjoyed our stay

September 2016 - We greatly enjoyed our stay at Casa Zenia A. The apartment is well appointed and the view is one of the best of Positano.

Summer In Italy have been very attentive and helpful in ensuring that our holiday was an enjoyable experience. Their customer service and communication could not be better and we would have no problem in recommending their services to other holidaymakers.

Travel tips

  • Note that there are 3 different bus services. The coastal service between Sorrento and Amalfi, the circular service which is frequent but only goes as far as Bar Internazionale, and the Montepertuso service which is less frequent but stops closer to the apartment.
  • The restaurants in town can be quite expensive but the Bar Internazionale and restaurants closer to the apartment are more reasonable.
  • We took day trips to Sorrento, Amalfi and Capri which were good value.

Deborah F.

Philadelphia

United States

VERIFIED

Fantastic views

September 2016 - Fantastic views, tranquil terrace. Spent most of our time when we were not out on the terrace.

Owners were extremely nice and accommodating.

Summer In Italy were truthful in their advertising. I would definitely recommend them.

Travel tips

  • Use the terrace, have lunch or dinner right there.
  • Enjoy the views, there are better than most places you would go to.

Helen Z.

Broadbeach

Australia

VERIFIED

We loved our stay!

July 2016 - We loved our stay at Casa Zenia A. The views were breathtaking and the terrace amazing! Although a little above the main beach easy access was available using the local bus.

The owners lived next door and were very helpful with advice. Everything was perfect.

We found the staff at Summer In Italy very professional. When our driver told us he was unavailable to pick us up from Naples airport the day before we required him, we contacted Summer In Italy and they arranged for another driver to pick us up - nothing was too much trouble! Thank you - you saved us from a lot of stress!

Travel tips

  • Easy access to local bus.
  • Two local restaurants were within walking distance.
  • We enjoyed trips via ferries to Sorrento, Amalfi and Capri.

Vanessa P.

Whittlebury

United Kingdom

VERIFIED

Thank you for such a lovely time!

May 2016 - Wow! Really beautiful property and very friendly owners. Casa Zenia A was very clean and there was no need to bring any essentials (dishwasher tablets included!). The views from the terrace were awe inspiring. Would definitely recommend Casa Zenia A.

Thank you for such a lovely time!

Travel tips

  • Just be warned the property is at the very top of Positano - has the best views, but lots of steps to the port and to the the middle part of town where there are busses that run frequently. In May there was one bus on hour from Casa Zenia A to the port.
  • Take a trip to Capri, and the water taxis to Amalfi.
  • Sita busses can be really crowded, if you can get a group together try for a private driver - so much better and the driver will always know the best places.

Debbie A.

Venice, CA

United States

VERIFIED

Very good

September 2015 - We picked Casa Zenia A because of the patio and views. The apartment is charming, bedroom & on suit bathrooms make a very comfortable stay for 2 couples. We never used the "living room", outdoors on the patio is where we wanted to be. Breath taking views!

The owners are next door and were available for any of our needs. Your place is very nice & we thank you for sharing.

There is no advice for Summer In Italy, it is the most organized home rental service I have ever worked with. I am telling everyone I know to only use your service! Thank you for the many response of emails.

Travel tips

  • I suggest you visit a market & buy your breakfast & cocktail favorites. We did this on our way from the airport to the property. This way you can enjoy coffee or evening wine & cheese on the patio.
  • We rented Vespas in town for our last 3 days (40 Euro a day), you can park on the street just below the property. This was a highlight of our trip, dressed up for dinner on our Vespas felt so Italian!
  • We went into Montepertuso and Nocelle for dinner to Restaurant Donna Rosa & Restaurant La Tagliata.
  • My friends & I had never been to Positano so no one could prepare us for the steps from the property to the beach area. We are all in good shape so we powered on.
  • There is an interno city bus just 400 steps from the Casa Zenia A and after 3 days of climbing we opted for the bus. Bus stop is in front of the Bar Internazionale.

Jo-Ann C.

Penticton

Canada

VERIFIED

Very good

September 2014 - What a perch! The view from our very spacious deck was incomparable, day and even more beautiful at night.

Inside Casa Zenia A was comfortable, all very well appointed, personalized just enough and very roomy.

No hesitation in recommending this fine property wholeheartedly!

Owners were very gracious and helpful; lots of basil and a lovely bottle of wine.

You folks are amazing. Loved the online help, all the tips and overall the terrific service of Summer In Italy.

Travel tips

  • Restaurant Da Constantino for sure is a must - great food and ambiance just 5 minutes up the road.
  • The hike from Nocelle to Bomerano, the Walk of the Gods, is a must... We all loved it in fact we did a roundtrip so we wouldn't have to take the bus back.
  • Loved the trip to and around the isle of Capri!

Maria I.

Randolph

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

September 2014 - Casa Zenia A was an absolute paradise.

If you want a vacation filled with views, tranquility, top rate accommodations and a kind, loving family to be your host Casa Zenia A is the place, it is absolutely beautiful!

The property itself was far nicer then the pictures. We were so impressed by the cleanliness and care that the owners take for their home. The terrace is breathtaking, the home itself it modern and very clean. The view from our outstanding terrace was magnificent! We woke up every morning thinking we were in a dream. It was so tranquil and private. This place should be called Casa Paradise!

We were greeted by Ivan upon our arrival and he was very kind, informative, friendly and available to us. Carla, the owner, was right next door and was available anytime we had a question. She was amazingly kind and friendly. I cannot begin to thank you and your family for your kindness and warmth, but most of all for allowing us to enjoy your beautiful home. My family and I had an amazing, relaxing, adventurous, fun time and we cannot thank you enough.

We are a family that travels often and very, very rarely stays in hotels. Our #1 reason is that we feel we are unable to truly experience the culture and people if we are staying at a hotel property. Your home allowed us to experience and enjoy the beautiful people and culture of Positano. We are very honest with ourselves in not expecting everything to be perfect, but I do have to tell you this time it truly was!!! Please express our thanks and many hugs and kisses to your family and, of course, to Pluto, Sara & Tibia.

My family and I enjoyed the most beautiful, memorable 12 days here, we were so sad to leave and would come back again.

I found Summer In Italy to be very efficient, respectful, information and available. I was truly happy with all the representatives that promptly replied to my many questions. We found your emailed booklet on Casa Zenia A very informative and helpful. I would not only use you again but am recommending you to my family and friends. Thank you very much. You made our vacation run smoothly.

Travel tips

  • We loved being so close to the fruit market, grocery store and cafe. The locals were amazingly kind and warm.
  • The grocery store even delivered our groceries, which was a big help considering the stairs you need to climb.
  • There are many stairs, however, this should not deter anyone from staying here. As long as you take it nice and slow up the steps, it is fine.
  • The bus stop is right up the street and very easy to use.
  • We loved staying here, although it is not right by the beach, we were happy to be away from the touristy area and enjoy the tranquility of being with the locals and walking down to the beach everyday. It gave us the chance to explore the quiet streets, stores, and beautiful people of Positano.

Diane G.

Las Vegas, Nevada

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

June 2014 - Staying at Casa Zenia A was the highlight of our European vacation. It is more beautiful than the pictures.

Having the family right next door and being able to share their garden and play with their dogs made us feel like we were at home. They were very helpful with all our questions during our travels.

I would highly recommend this amazing, beautiful casa. It will be our only place to stay the next time we're in Positano.

The owner's family was extremely generous and welcoming. Thank you Ivan [the owner] for all your guidance and making us feel like we were part of the family.

Summer In Italy made my travel plans so much easier. I will use them every time I go back to Italy. I highly recommend their services. Luca was very helpful and made sure all my questions were answered. Thank you Luca!!

Travel tips

  • Wear some comfortable walking show. Ladies, leave the pumps at home. The stairs in Positano are everywhere and they are easier to go down than up.
  • We walked down to town everyday, shopped and enjoyed the beach and there is a bus that brings you right back to the street the casa is on.

Gord T.

East St. Paul

Canada

VERIFIED

Excellent

April 2014 - This was the absolute perfect vacation spot. Casa Zenia A is a beautiful place, with an unbelievable view from a fantastic terrace.

I can't wait to return some time in the future.

I want to thank Summer in Italy for the great service we received in finding this spot, and providing all kinds of useful information in advance of our trip. We came across the Summer in Italy web site by accident, but I can say that I've never received better service from any company. I had many questions before we left, not just about the villa we were renting but about the Amalfi Coast in general. Every question was responded to within a day and answered in detail in a very friendly manner. Best of all, they lead us to the perfect vacation spot. We certainly intend to return to Italy in the future, and my planning will begin by contacting Summer in Italy.

Travel tips

  • Try the Restaurant Da Costantino for dinner. It's a short walk from the villa, and serves great food. Save just a little room for Luigi's [the owner's] limoncello for "dessert".

Jay A.

Arlington

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

October 2013 - This villa was actually as beautiful when seen live as it looked in the photos... and that is rarely the case with anything. The long walk to the town and beach makes it not a place for everyone... and Positano itself is a bit of a (beautiful) bore and a tourist trap... but we all thought the villa itself was simply outstanding.

The bedroom could use a bit more closet space (or maybe just more hangers and shelves).

The owners were very sweet and brought us lemon cake for dessert after one of our big meals on the last night there. We loved the dogs (especially Sara) and took them in on a stormy night.

Finding you folks was by accident... but we liked the personal attention, the phone calls and help we got finding a villa that fit our needs. Zenia A was idyllic in many ways.

Travel tips

  • Be able to walk and climb stairs easily... or stay somewhere else.
  • A family restaurant right up the street was outstanding one night, run of the mill the next. Meals we cooked at the villa were the best ones we had here.
  • Do not plan on driving here unless you have a death wish. Hire a driver to get you in and out.

Barry M.

Kallroo

Australia

VERIFIED

Excellent

September 2013 - We enjoyed our stay at Casa Zenia and found the direction and help from the owners to be excellent.

Although up near the top of the hill bus transport made access to the main town easy.

Conditions and cleanliness of villa excellent.

Carolyn V.

Aurora

Canada

VERIFIED

Fantastic

June 2013 - We loved staying at Casa Zenia A. The owners were wonderful, so kind and helpful and caring, and everything about the villa was fantastic. I would return and recommend to all my friends. The owners did a beautiful job of welcoming us and looking after us,

I am very happy with the service and your company and will use you again.

Travel tips

  • Once you learn the bus system the climb up isn't too bad, The view is worth the climb.

Rudy T.

Friendswood, Texas

United States

VERIFIED

Excellent

May 2013 - Loved Casa Zenia and the owners could not have been nicer to us. They even called the airport to try to retrieve luggage that did not arrive.

Would definitely recommend Casa Zenia to anyone going to Positano and hope they have as much fun as we did!

Travel tips

  • Lots of steps so you should be in decent shape.
  • Favorite restaurant was Restaurant La Terra in Montepertuso. They will pick you up if you need transportation. Food and owner Francesco were special. Please check them out.
  • Restaurant Da Costantino close by for dinner is good too.
  • For day trips, check out Amalfi Coast Car Service. Claudio was polite, on time and an excellent driver.

Michele M.

Austin, Texas

United States

VERIFIED

Fantastic

November 2012 - We enjoyed Zenia very much. We loved the location at the very top of the town and close to the trails that traverse the hills above Positano and provide breathtaking views.

The two bedroom apartment had lovely bedrooms and gorgeous bathrooms, a cozy kitchen with top of the line cooking utensils. The large terrace overlooking the town and the sea is fabulous! More spectacular than any photo can portray.

I recommend Zenia A to renters who are fit and can handle climbing stairs to get around town. Especially perfect for those who enjoy being away from the center of town and like to be able to access walks in nature.

I would use or recommend Summer in Italy again. My friend and I are very grateful that you were able to find us such a great rental.

Travel tips

  • Casa Zenia is located on a road that is at the very top of the town, Positano, referred to as the "vertical city". It is a fabulous place to take in the spectacular view below, but one should be able to climb many stairs when walking to and from the center of town.
  • There are restaurants and shops to purchase groceries, fresh vegetables and fruit a short walk from the villa.
  • It is also close enough to the bus to use this form of transportation to go to different towns.
  • I would not recommend taking the bus to the villa, as hauling luggage from the bus stop and then up the stairs to arrive at the villa would be very difficult. We hired a car to bring us and that worked perfectly.
From
US$ 430
EUR 400

Enter dates to see price:

  • SAFE ONLINE BOOKING
  • Best price guarantee
  • Payment protection
  • Inspected property
  • Verified owner